What Is the VITAL Initiative?
Program Sites

A group of students study together in a library.

Ann Arbor VA Medical Center

Brittany Powers, LMSW
Brittany Powers, LMSW
VITAL Case Manager

Cell: 734-548-3452
Email: Brittany.Powers@va.gov
MaryGrace Lauver, LCSW

MaryGrace Lauver, LMSW

  • SeRV MH Coordinator
  • VITAL Coordinator
Office: 734-845-5793
Email: MaryGrace.Lauver@va.gov

Baltimore VA Medical Center

Andrew P. Santanello, Psy.D.

Andrew P. Santanello, Psy.D.

  • VITAL Program Manager
  • Team Leader, Serving Returning Veterans-Mental Health (SeRV MH) Program

Phone: (410) 637-1233
Cell: (410) 459-0423
Page: (410) 447-4963
Fax: 410-605-7111
Email: Andrew.Santanello@va.gov

Jade Wolfman-Charles, Ph.D.

Jade Wolfman-Charles, Ph.D.

  • VITAL Coordinator
  • Serving Returning Veterans Mental Health (SeRV-MH)
  • VA Motivational Interviewing (MI) Consultant
  • Co-Coordinator of Training in Diversity and Multiculturalism
  • VAMHCS/UMB Psychology Internship Consortium

Office: 410-404-6133
Email: Jade.Wolfman-Charles@va.gov 


Bedford VA Medical Center

Alisa Bennett

Alisa Bennett
LICSW Program Manager

Phone: (781) 983-2400
Email: Alisa.Bennett@va.gov

 

Phil Lippens
MSW intern

Phone: (781) 382-5844
Email: Philip.Lippens@va.gov

Dee King
MSW intern

Phone: (781) 382-5190
Email: Dinelia.King@va.gov

Alex Whitelaw
Peer Support Specialist

Phone: (781) 879-6561
Email: Alexander.Whitlaw@va.gov

Dr. Valene Whittaker
Psychologist

Phone: (781) 879-9312
Email: Valene.Whittaker@va.gov

Margaret Veroneau
NP

Phone: (781) 879-4084
Email: Margaret.Veroneau@va.gov

Eric Toussaint
LICSW

Phone: (781) 879-8687
Email: Eric.Toussaint@va.gov

Ashley Kies
Post-Doctoral Fellow

Phone: (781) 382-5281
Email: Ashley.Kies@va.gov

Josh Rackley
Post-Doctoral Fellow

Phone: (781) 382-5347
Email: Joshua.Rackley@va.gov

Dr. Chivi Kapungu
Psychologist (STARS Seminar)

Phone: (781) 760-4109
Email: Chivi.Kapungu@va.gov

Rahsaan McLellan
Peer Support Specialist

Phone: (781) 879-6608
Email: Rahsaan.Mclellan@va.gov

Canandaigua VA Medical Center

Peggy Lane

Peggy Lane
VITAL Program Manager

Phone: (585) 857-1932
Email: Margaret.Lane@va.gov

Erin Militello, LCSW

Erin Militello, LCSW
VITAL Outreach Coordinator

Phone: (585) 393-7367
Email: Erin.Militello@va.gov

Jenny Lopez, LMSW

Jenny Lopez, LMSW

  • Veterans Integration To Academic Leadership (VITAL)
  • Tele-Health Social Worker
Phone: (585) 393-8015
Email: Jenny.Lopez@va.gov

David L. Andrews, BSBA,CPS

David L. Andrews, BSBA,CPS

  • Veterans Integration To Academic Leadership (VITAL) Peer Specialist
  • U.S. Navy Veteran
Phone: (585) 393-7586
Cell: (585) 944-3956
Email: David.Andrews@va.gov


Central Texas Health Care System

Sharon Wills, Ph.D.

Sharon Wills, Ph.D.
VITAL Program Director

Office: 512-433-2038
Cell: 512-785-2693
Sharon.Wills@va.gov

Jeffrey Moe, LMSW

Jeffrey Moe, LMSW
Student Veteran Outreach Coordinator, VITAL Program

Office: 512-232-2677
Jeffrey.Moe@va.gov

Cheyenne VA Medical Center

female image placeholder

Dr. Kaily Cannizzaro

  • Psychologist
  • VITAL Program Coordinator

Office: 307-287-8730
Kaily.Cannizzaro@va.gov

Cincinnati VA Medical Center

female image placeholder

Karen Cutright, LISW-S

  • VITAL Program Manager
  • OEF/OIF/OND Program Manager

Phone: (513) 475-6921
Fax: (513) 475-6947
Email: Karen.Cutright@va.gov

Jessica H. Thiede, Psy.D.

Jessica H. Thiede, Psy.D.

  • Licensed Clinical Psychologist
  • Program Coordinator, VITAL Initiative
  • Consultant/University Liaison
  • OEF/OIF/OND Clinic

Phone: (513) 276-1800
Email: Jessica.Thiede@Va.gov


Connecticut Healthcare System (West Haven Campus)

Morris D. Bell, Ph.D., ABPP

Morris D. Bell, Ph.D., ABPP

  • VITAL Program Director
  • Senior Research Career Scientist Dept. of Veterans Affairs, Rehab R&D
  • Professor Dept. of Psychiatry, Yale School of Medicine
  • Program Director, NIMH Research Fellowship in Functional Disability Interventions

Phone: (203) 932-5711 Ext 2281
Fax: (203) 937-4735
Email: Morris.Bell@va.gov

Amy C. Kaplan, MSSW, L.C.S.W.

Amy C. Kaplan, MSSW, L.C.S.W.

  • VITAL Program Coordinator
  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker
  • Veterans Integration To Academic Leadership

Cell: (203) 800-5512
Email: Amy.Kaplan@va.gov


Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System

female image placeholder

Shana Spangler, PsyD
VITAL Program Manager

Office: 310-478-3711
Email: Shana.Spangler@va.gov

    


Gulf Coast Veterans Healthcare System

male image placeholder

Jack Carney, PhD
Psychologist

Offic: 251-219-3838
Email: Jack.Carney@va.gov         


Jesse Brown VA Medical Center (Chicago)

Holly M. Passi, Psy.D.

Holly M. Passi, Psy.D.

  • Clinical Psychologist
  • VITAL Veterans Outreach Program
  • OEF/OIF/OND Post Deployment Clinic

Office: 312-262-8007
Email: Holly.Passi@va.gov 


Madison VA Medical Center

Shannon Kostuck, LCSW-A

Shannon Kostuck, LCSW-A
VITAL Coordinator

Email: shannon.kostuck@va.gov / Kostuck@madisoncollege.edu

Madison College Desk: (608) 246-6307

Madison College
Student Development Center, Truax Campus
1701 Wright Street
Madison, WI  53704


Marion VA Medical Center

Thomas J. Kadela, Ph.D., LCSW, BCD

Thomas J. Kadela, Ph.D., LCSW, BCD

  • VITAL Program Manager
  • Behavioral Medicine Supervisor - Psychosocial Rehabilitation & Specialty Clinical Programs
  • Adjunct Assistant Professor
    Southern Illinois University - Rehabilitation Institute

Office: 618-997-5311 ext. 54759
Cell: 618-751-9419

Brenda Carter, LCSW, BCD

Brenda Carter, LCSW, BCD

  • VITAL Initiative
  • Outreach Worker

Office: 618-453-1996 (Southern Illinois University)
Office: 618-528-4192 (Marion Veterans Affairs)
Email: Brenda.Carter4@va.gov

Samuel R Hoekstra

Samuel R Hoekstra
Peer Support Services, Southern Illinois University

Phone: 618-453-8387


Minneapolis VA Medical Center

Katy Strub, LICSW

Katy Strub, LICSW
VITAL Coordinator

Office: 612-695-8201
Email: Katy.Strub@Va.gov

Nebraska-Western Iowa Health Care System

Barb Shupe, LCSW

Barb Shupe, LCSW
VITAL Outreach Social Worker
Serving Lincoln and Columbus regions

Office: 402-489-3802 X6828
Cell: 402-676-4261
Email:barbara.shupe@va.gov

David Rutherford, LCSW

David Rutherford, LGSW
VITAL Outreach Social Worker
Serving Lexington and Grand Island regions

Cell: 308-339-9406
Email: David.Rutherford@va.gov

New York Harbor Healthcare System (Manhattan Campus)

Yvette Branson, PhD

Yvette Branson, PhD
VITAL Coordinator

Phone: 646-772-6087
Email:Yvette.Branson@Va.gov

Orlando VA Medical Center

Mary Beth Shea, Ph.D.

Mary Beth Shea, Ph.D.
VITAL Program Manager and Local Recovery Coordinator

Office: 407-646-4279
Email: Mary.Shea@va.gov

Bryan Batien, Ph.D.

Bryan Batien, Ph.D.
VITAL Coordinator

Phone: (321) 438-6436
Email: Bryan.Batien@va.gov

Lloyd Duran, MSW

Lloyd Duran, MSW
VITAL Outreach Peer Support

Phone:(321) 795-3393
Email: Lloyd.Duran@va.gov


Palo Alto VA Medical Center/NCPTSD

Annabel Prins, Ph.D

Annabel Prins, Ph.D

  • VITAL Program Coordinator
  • Professor Department of Psychology, San Jose State University

Office:  408-924-5462
Email: Annabel.Prins@sjsu.edu / Annabel.Prins@va.gov

Damian Bramlett, MS

Damian Bramlett, MS
Veteran Coordinator, VA VITAL Initiative

Office:  408.924.5462
Fax:  408.924.5467
Email: Damian.Bramlett@va.gov
SJSU Email: Damian.Bramlett@sjsu.edu
Semper Gumby (Always Flexible)

Trisha Vinatieri, Psy.D.

Trisha Vinatieri, Psy.D.

  • Staff Psychologist, VITAL Program, San Jose State University
  • Women’s Prevention, Outreach, and Education Center, VAPAHCS

Phone: (650) 493-5000, x 22914
Email: Trisha.Vinatieri@va.gov


Reno VA Medical Center

female image placeholder

Christie Lambert, RN, BS/CIS, MSN/MBA/HC
OEF/OIF/OND Program Coordinator

Office: 775-328-1232
Cell: 775-690-6001
E-mail: Christie.Lambert@va.gov

male image placeholder

Heidi A. Priestley, LSW, CSW-Intern

  • VITAL Social Worker
  • Veterans Integration To Academic Leadership

Office: 775-326-5720
Cell: 775-686-8302
Fax: 775-326-5751
E-mail: Heidi.Priestley@va.gov

male image placeholder

Troy Stormoen

  • Veteran Outreach Specialist, Reno Vet Center
  • Alternate VITAL Program Coordinator

Office: 775-323-1294
Cell: 775-770-0665
Fax: 775-322-8123
E-mail: Troy.Stormoen@va.gov

male image placeholder

Readjustment Counseling Technicians:
Donald Stockton

Office: 775-682-5935
Cell: 775-745-5727
E-mail: Cesar.Melgarejo@va.gov
E-mail: Donald.Stockton@va.gov

Salt Lake City VA Medical Center

Steven Allen, PhD

Steven Allen, PhD
VITAL and PCT Manager

Office: 801-582-1565 x2390
Email: Steven.Allen@va.gov

D. Aaron Ahern, PhD

D. Aaron Ahern, PhD
VITAL Program Coordinator

VA Cell: 801-828-6787
Email:Dennis.Ahern@va.gov

San Francisco VA Medical Center

Keith Armstrong, LCSW

Keith Armstrong, LCSW

  • VITAL Program Manager
  • Clinical Professor, UCSF Department of Psychiatry
  • Director, San Francisco VA Couples and Family Program
  • Director, San Francisco VA Mental Health Social Work
  • Member, PTSD Program

Office: 415-750-2190
Email: Keith.Armstrong@va.gov


Tuscaloosa VA Medical Center

Dr. Velda Pugh
Dr. Velda Pugh
VITAL Program Manager

Office: (205) 554-2000 x4299
Email: Velda.Pugh@va.gov 
Lawanda Vanhorn, LGSW

Lawanda Vanhorn, LGSW
VITAL Coordinator

Office: (205) 554-2000 x3791
Cell: (205) 292-7328
Email: Lawanda.Vanhorn@va.gov

Walla Walla VA Medical Center

female image placeholder

Dr. Lou Holm
Associate Chief of Staff for Behavioral Health


Office: (509) 525-5200
Email: Cynthia.Holm@va.gov

Steve Malone, PhD

Steve Malone, PhD
VITAL Coordinator
Jonathan M. Wainwright VAMC


Office: (509) 525-5200
Email: Steven.Malone@va.gov


Back to Top
A student reads a book in a library.